Personalized Attention From A Small Law Firm With Large Law Firm Resources

Understanding Maryland’s 12-hour Alcohol Education Program

On Behalf of | Apr 18, 2024 | CRIMINAL LAW - Drunk Driving

When someone is accused of driving under the influence of alcohol in Maryland, they may face fines, jail time and a suspension of their driver’s license. Losing one’s driver’s license is inconvenient and the reinstatement process can be lengthy. For some, attending the 12-hour Alcohol Education Program, known as AEP, may be required before one’s driving privileges are restored.  

How the program works 

This program was designed to provide rehabilitation to those convicted of DUI or DWI. In some cases, a judge will order an individual to attend the program in order to keep a driver’s license or have it reinstated. Once a referral letter for the program is received, an AEP provider must be contacted to sign up for a session. The session must begin within 90 days of the due date listed on the referral letter.  

The program fees will vary based on the provider. It is the responsibility of the attendee to cover these costs. If the AEP is not attended as directed, the individual’s driver’s license will be suspended. Once the program has been completed it’s possible to apply for a new driver’s license.  

Legal advice after DUI charges   

When facing serious charges related to driving under the influence of alcohol, an accused individual has every right to defend themselves or, if offered the opportunity, plead guilty to a lesser charge. A conviction or plea deal may result in fines, a referral to attend a program or jail time. A Maryland criminal defense attorney can help a client understand the best approach based on the circumstances presented.